About Kavel

The seat of Kavel was named after August Ludwig Christian Kavel, (1798-1860), a Lutheran pastor, who came to South Australia with 200 of his German followers in 1838 seeking religious freedom. The original party, and succeeding groups of German migrants, made a lasting contribution to South Australia's development.

Located to the east of Adelaide, Kavel includes the residential hills suburbs and farming areas of Balhannah, Blakiston, Brukunga, Carey Gully, Charleston, Dawesley, Hahndorf, Hay Valley, Littlehampton, Mount Barker, Mount Barker Junction, Mount Barker Springs, Mount Barker Summit, Mount George, Nairne, Oakbank, Paechtown, Piccadilly, Totness, Verdun and Woodside.